Mnemic's History (Biography)

Mnemic (pronounced /ˈniːmɨk/) is a Danish industrial metal band, formed in Aalborg, Denmark in 1998. Their music has been described as a fusion between metalcore, melodic death metal, industrial metal and progressive metal, with additional elements of thrash metal and groove metal, to form a style the band themselves have described as "Future Fusion Metal." Named as one of Metallica's favorite bands, they have opened for Metallica in Europe both in 2007 and 2008.

Official site:


Genre(s): Industrial Metal

Country: Denmark

Show Date: September 2, 2010

Festivals: Global East Rock Festival 2010

Added by: Inheritance

The band have charted in the Top 100 in Denmark with The Audio Injected Soul and were the first Danish metal band to open the Orange Stage at Roskilde Festival in 2004, one of Europe's biggest mainstream festivals with 80,000 spectators. They have worked with Down and The Fugees producer Warren Riker on the Passenger album, collaborated with Roy Z (Judas Priest and Bruce Dickinson producer) and are featured on the soundtracks of Alone in the Dark, Echo (with Kim Bodnia) and Nordkraft movies.

They have released four full length albums, and have toured with bands such as Metallica, Deftones, Machine Head, Meshuggah, Arch Enemy, All That Remains, Fear Factory, The Haunted, Soilwork and God Forbid.

Mnemic's Current Members

  • Guillaume Bideau – vocals (ex-Scarve) (2006–present)
  • Mircea Gabriel Eftemie – guitar, keyboards (1998–present)
  • Rune Stigart – guitar (1999–present)
  • Tomas "Obeast" Koefoed – bass guitar (2004–present)
  • Brian "Brylle" Rasmussen – drums (1998–present)

Former members:

  • Michael Bøgballe – vocals (2001–2005)
  • Mikkel Larsen – bass guitar (1998–2003)
  • Mark Bai - Vocals (1998–2001)

Mnemic (an acronym for 'Mainly Neurotic Energy Modifying Instant Creation') was formed in the town of Aalborg, Denmark in 1998, by vocalist Michael Bøgballe, ex-Mercenary guitarist Mircea Gabriel Eftemie, bassist Mikkel Larsen and ex-Invocator session drummer Brian Rasmussen. The band were signed to Nuclear Blast Records, and produced their first album Mechanical Spin Phenomena in 2002 with producer Tue Madsen. After the recording of the album, Larsen was replaced by ex-Grope bassist Tomas "Obeast" Koefod.

Mnemic's Discography

  • 2003 - Mechanical Spin Phenomena
  • 2004 - The Audio Injected Soul
  • 2007 - Passenger
  • 2010 - Sons of the System

The band toured with Disbelief, Darkane, Mystic Prophecy and Death Angel in Europe, and alongside Machine Head in Germany.

In 2004, Mnemic recorded their second album The Audio Injected Soul, at AntFarm Studios in Århus, Denmark with Madsen. The album was notable for including a cover version of Duran Duran's "Wild Boys", and also for being the first album in the world to be recorded using binaural recording technology. This style of recording allowed enhanced audio for listeners with special head sets. The album debuted at 97 in the national Danism album charts.

The album spawned two music videos - "Deathbox" (directed by Patric Ulleaus), which was filmed at the Revolver Studios in Gothenburg, and "Door 2.12", which was filmed in Berlin.

In 2005, vocalist Bøgballe left the band and was replaced by former Transport League and B-Thong vocalist Tony Jelencovich. Jelencovich filled in for the bands North American tour with Meshuggah, but was subsequently replaced in April 2006 by ex-Scarve vocalist Guillaume Bideau.

Mnemic's third studio album, titled Passenger, was produced by Christian Olde Wolbers of Fear Factory, featuring artwork by Asterik Studios, and guest vocals by Jeff Walker (of Carcass and Brujeria) and Shane Embury (of Napalm Death, and Brujeria). The album spawned a music video for the song "Meaningless", directed by Patric Ullaeus of the Revolver Film company.

The album was released in February 2007, with the Japanese version containing a bonus track, titled "Zero Synchronized".

Mnemic's fourth album Sons of the System was distributed via Nuclear Blast Records, and released in Europe on January 15, 2010 and in North America on January 26, 2010. It was recorded in the bands own studio, with producer Tue Madsen (who worked with the band on previous releases Mechanical Spin Phenomena and The Audio Injected Soul).

Sons Of The System includes eleven tracks, plus three bonus tracks (including a worldwide iTunes exclusive, and a remix available in North America only). The band describes the production of the album as "Very eclectic, very diverse, and nothing that you would imagine coming from a band like us. Let's just say it has become more theatrical, more electronic, and just more catchy, as we have put all our focus on writing good songs and not being afraid of experimenting."

Source: ©

Official Mnemic's Video

Mnemic - Diesel Uterus
Added by: Increase
View Count: 133005
Duration: 04:35
Mnemic - Ghost
Added by: Increase
View Count: 150010
Duration: 03:34
Mnemic - Meaningless
Added by: Increase
View Count: 231370
Duration: 03:08
Mnemic - Deathbox
Added by: Increase
View Count: 104093
Duration: 03:58
Mnemic - Door 2.12
Added by: Increase
View Count: 249576
Duration: 03:27
Mnemic - Liquid
Added by: Increase
View Count: 200556
Duration: 04:11

Other bands that participated at the Global East Rock Festival 2010: Balfor, Bonfire, Cemetery Of Scream, Cruachan, Dark Tranquillity, Deviant Syndrome, Diablo Swing Orchestra, Eluveitie, Haggard, HammerFall, Infinite Tales, Kiss Forever Band, Manic Depression, Mayhem, Moonspell, Obituary, Oomph!, Preternatural, Rotting Christ, Sabaton, Sirenia, Sunrise, The Gathering, Venom, Vic Anselmo, W.H.I.T.E, Пилигрим.

Created At: September 23, 2010 12:25 PM Updated At: May 9, 2011 4:47 PM